About | Sitemap | Legal | Impressum & Datenschutz
 
SCOUT 800 restoration and conversion
to Scout II tech
Scout 800 Sportop cont'd from »homepage
 
» SCOUT Home

Scout 800 Gallery:

» 1  2  3  4  5  6
 

Though the Scout I is smaller and looks handier compared to the Scout II model, it is much less easy to handle when driving. The turning circle is much wider than for Scout II despite of having the same wheel base, due to a smaller steering lock. Whereas the absence of a power steering is just about bearable with the 4-cylinder engine, any parking manoeuver will turn into torture with a V8 engine.

The brake system - a single circuit brake without power brake unit with drums front and rear - is no longer adequate for today's traffic situation. And whilst the original 4-cylinder engine (4-152) runs in a reliable way, it definetely lacks power and fails to offer any decent exhaust sound. Due to these disadvantages the fun of riding this otherwise beautiful vehicle quite literally bites the dust. Therefore this vintage Scout 800 Sporttop has been converted to Scout II tech.


However the conversion wasn't exactly trivial since the original engine compartment was far too small for the big V8 engine. Numerous metal parts had to be removed respectively modified to allow for more room. Also the mounting of the power steering unit required extensive modifications of the wheel house. To create more space for the transfer case the body was lifted 4 cm (abt. 1,5 inch).

The original steering column was shortened and fitted with cardan joints of German and Japanese production to compensate for the bold angle toward the Scout II steering gear.

The frame also had to be changed: in the rear about 20 cm (7 3/4 inch) where sawn off because Scout II has got more overhang in rear. In the front 3 cm (1 1/4 inch) were sawn off to bring the original bumper closer to the vehicle. Furthermore the 4 rear suspension points body/frame were repositioned by welding.

In the original vehicle only a 30 liter fuel tank was fitted behind the driver's seat which obviously could not cope with the thirst of a V8 engine. Now a 68 liter tank (custom built) sits in the back unterneath the cargo bed.

Due to the wider Scout II axles the wheels are now sticking out a touch more which makes for a slightly more tough impression compared to the original. Also the discrete bodylift becomes the Scout well. Besides the rust through was eliminated and the paint was completey renewed. Also the wiring was renewed with exception of the dashboard wiring harness, and for security reasons extended with various relays and fuses.

After all these modifications the Scout finally runs as cool as it looks.

»see pictures of the build
Technical data: SCOUT 800 "Sporttop" 1966 - frame and powertrain Scout II 1979
  • Engine: V-345
  • Transmission: Torqueflite 727 (automatic 3-speed)
  • Axle front: Dana 44 disc brakes
  • Axle rear: Dana 44 drum brakes
  • Axle drive ration: 3,07
  • Power brake unit: Scout II
  • Wheel brake cylinder rear: Jeep CJ
  • Tires: 235/75/15
  • Spokes: 6x15 Scout II
  • Fuel tank: custom built, stainless steel 68 liter
  • Gas cap: boat supplies
  • Steering column: top original Scout 800, duct Nissan Patrol, upper joint Mitsubishi, column Mercedes 126, lower joint Mitsubishi, hardy disc Scout II
  • Radiator: Scout II, expansion tank Mitsubishi
  • Radiator fan: 2x Spal elektrlcal fans
  • automatic gear-shift lever: Scout II, cover Ford Taunus
  • bodylift: abt. 8 cm (3 inch)

Native speakers: please mail a revised translation - we know that our English is far from perfect ;-)
»top Last Update: June 3, 2007

About | Sitemap | Legal | Impressum & Datenschutz
 
SCOUT 800 Restaurierung mit Umbau auf
Scout II-Te
chnik
Scout 800 Sportop Fortsetzung von »homepage
 
» SCOUT Home

Scout 800 Gallery:

» 1  2  3  4  5  6
 

Obwohl der Scout I kleiner und handlicher als der Scout II aussieht, fährt er sich viel schwieriger als dieser. Der Wendekreis ist trotz gleichen Radstands aufgrund des geringen Lenkeinschlags viel grösser als beim Scout II. Während die fehlende Servolenkung mit dem 4-Zylinder Motor gerade noch zu verschmerzen ist, werden mit dem schweren V8 jegliche Einparkmanöver zur Tortur.

Die Bremsanlage - eine Einkreisbremse ohne Bremskraftverstärker mit Trommeln vorn und hinten - ist für die heutigen Verkehrsverhältnisse auch nicht mehr ausreichend. Der Original 4-Zylinder Motor (4-152) läuft zwar zuverlässig, hat aber kaum Leistung und überhaupt keinen "Sound". Aufgrund dieser vielen Nachteile bleibt der Fahrspass bei diesem sonst so schönen Fahrzeug wortwörtlich auf der Strecke. Dieser seltene Original Scout 800 "Sporttop" wurde deshalb komplett auf ScoutII-Technik umgebaut.

Der Umbau war allerdings nicht ganz banal, weil der Original-Motorraum viel zu klein für den grossen V8 Motor war. Etliche Blechteile mussten entfernt bzw. verändert werden, um Platz zu schaffen. Auch der Einbau des Bremskraftverstärkers erforderte umfangreiche Modifikationen am Radhaus. Um mehr Platz für das Getriebe zu schaffen, wurde die Karosserie 4 cm höher gelegt (bodylift).

Die original Lenksäule wurde gekürzt und mit Kreuzgelenken aus japanischer und deutscher Produktion versehen, um den steilen Winkel zum ScoutII Lenkgetriebe auszugeichen.

Auch das Fahrgestell musste verändert werden: hinten wurden ca. 20 cm abgesägt, weil der ScoutII im Vergleich zum Scout I hinten mehr Überhang hat, vorne wurden 3 cm abgesägt, damit die Original-Stossstange näher am Wagen sitzt. Weiterhin sind die 4 hinteren Aufhängungspunkte Karosserie/Fahrgestell umgeschweisst worden. Im Originalfahrzeug war nur ein 30-Liter-Tank hinter dem Fahrersitz eingebaut, der für den Durst des V8 Motors natürlich viel zu klein ist. Jetzt befindet sich ein 68-Liter-Tank (Massanfertigung) hinten unter der Ladefläche.

Durch die breiteren ScoutII-Achsen stehen die Räder nun geringfügig weiter aussen, was optisch einen kräftigeren Eindruck macht verglichen mit dem Original. Auch die dezente Höherlegung steht dem Scout gut. Nebenbei wurden auch noch die Durchrostungen beseitigt und der Lack komplett erneuert. Auch die Elektrik wurde bis auf den Amaturenbrettkabelbaum erneuert und zur Sicherheit mit einigen Relais und Sicherungen erweitert.

Nach diesen zahlreichen Umbauten fährt sich der Scout nun endlich so "cool" wie er aussieht!


»Zu den Umbau-Fotos
Technische Daten: SCOUT 800 "Sportop" Baujahr 1966 - Fahrwerk und Antrieb Scout II Baujahr 1979
  • Motor: V-345
  • Getriebe: Torqueflite 727 (Automatik 3-Gang)
  • Achse vorn: Dana 44 Scheibenbremsen
  • Achse hinten: Dana 44 Trommelbremsen
  • Achsübersetzung: 3,07
  • Bremskraftverstärker: Scout II
  • Radbremszylinder Hinten: Jeep CJ
  • Reifen: 235/75/15
  • Felgen: 6x15 Scout II
  • Tank: Anfertigung Edelstahl 68 Liter
  • Tankstutzen: Bootszubehör
  • Lenksäule: oben original Scout 800, Durchführung Nissan Patrol, Gelenk oben Mitsubishi, Lenkstange Mercedes 126, Gelenk unten Mitsubishi, Hardyscheibe ScoutII
  • Kühler: Scout II, Ausgleichsbehälter Mitsubishi
  • Kühlerlüfter: 2x Spal Elektrlklüfter
  • Automatikwählhebel: Scout II, Abdeckung Ford Taunus
  • Höherlegung: ca. 8 cm
  • Kühler: Scout II, Ausgleichsbehälter Mitsubishi
  • Kühlerlüfter: 2x Spal Elektrlklüfter
  • Automatikwählhebel: Scout II, Abdeckung Ford Taunus
  • Höherlegung: ca. 8 cm
»top Last Update: June 3, 2007